About Jeollanamdo
General Status
Statistical Information
International Exchanges
Location and Direction
Investment Attractiveness
Promising Businesses
Ongoing Provincial Projects
Life Information
Alien Registration
Medical Insurance
Immigration/Stay Guide
Culture and Tourism
Tourist Information
Theme Tour
General Tourism Information


  • • Jeollanamdo is an area well-known for its dedication to justice, as evidenced by its role in saving the country during difficult times such as the Japanese Invasion of 1592, periods of guerrilla resistance against invasion from foreign enemies, and during the May 18 Democratic Movement.
  • Samhan/Three-Kingdom
    The last capital city of the Mahan Kingdom and one of the five bangs (administrative provinces) during the Baekje Kingdom
    Unified Silla Kingdom
    Mujinju, one of 9 ju and 5 sogyeong (administrative provinces and districts), was referred to as Muju in 757, the 16th year of King Gyeongdeok’s reign.
    Goryeo Kingdom
    Named Haeyangdo in 995, the 14th year of King Seongjong’s reign, and renamed Jeollado in 1018, the 9th year of King Hyeonjong’s reign.
    Joseon Kingdom
    Jeollado was divided into Jeollabukdo and Jeollanamdo on August 4, 1896, the 32nd year of Emperor Gojong’s reign, according to Imperial Order No. 36.
    Gwangju City was promoted to Metropolitan City status and separated from Jeollanamdo on November 1, 1986.
    Jeollanamdo Provincial Government was relocated from Gwangju Metropolitan City to Muan-gun, Jeollanamdo in November 2005.